• Posted May 3, 2011

In time for Bike Month, new Bicycle Friendly Communities and Des Moines is one of 'em!

The League of American Bicyclists announced the latest round of Bicycle Friendly Community (BFC) designations on May 1st to kick off May as National Bike Month. This was one of the strongest groups of applicants we’ve seen with a lot of solid projects and programs from communities all across the country – from 1,200 people in Sisters, Ore. to more than 8 million in New York City. Twenty-one communities received awards, out of 45 new applicants. Minneapolis, Minn. earned a gold-level award, the highest award of this round.

Des Moines

When Des Moines first applied for BFC status in 2006, it failed to received any designation. In 2008, Des Moines applied again and received honorable mention. Looks for an awards ceremony sometime in May! More about Des Moines Bronze Status Communities are evaluated in five areas: engineering, education, encouragement, enforcement, and evaluation. Cedar Falls and Iowa City have previously received Bronze status.

2011 Spring Bicycle Friendly Community Winners

21 communities are awarded the BFC designation for the first time: Silver Level * Boston, Mass. * Sisters, Ore. * Hilton head Island, S.C. Bronze level * Athens & Clarke County, Ga. * Cupertino, Calif. * Des Moines, Iowa * Eau Claire, Wis. * Fresno, Calif. * Harrisonburg, Va. * City & County of Juneau, Alaska * Kansas City, Mo. * Keene, N.H. * Las Cruces, N.M. * Los Altos, Calif. * Norman, Okla. * Northampton, Mass. * Raleigh, N.C. * Sedona, Ariz. * Somerville, Mass. * Tybee Island, Ga. * Wilmington, N.C *Ten communities successfully renewed their designation and three moved up to higher designations Gold * Minneapolis, Minn.* Silver * New York, N.Y.* * Washington, D.C. Bronze * Beaverton, Ore. * Carmel, Ind. * Lexington & Fayette County, Ky. * Mesa, Ariz. * Roswell, Ga. * Shawnee, Ks. * South Sioux City, Neb. Spring 2011 Honorable Mentions * Apple Valley, Minn. * Carson City, Nev. * Chula Vista, Calif. * Cottonwood, Ariz. * Elmhurst, Ill. * Fernandina Beach, Fla. * Frederick, Md. * Gahanna, Ohio * Huntsville, Ala. * Mankato / North Mankato, Minn. * Onalaska, Wis. * Peachtree City, Ga. * Rosemount, Minn. * Troy, Ohio * Tuscaloosa, Ala. * Warrenville, Ill. * Wilmington, Del. * South Windsor, Conn. * Windsor, Calif.

  • Source:
  • Author:
  • Posted By:
  • Modified: May 22, 2012 by ss








No comments have posted.

Leave a Comment

You must be signed in to leave a comment.